The Normydia Crisis

 

By G. Satterford

 

Click here to read chapter

 

Click here to purchase book ($2.99)

 

In the distant future, far from the ruins of Earth, mankind has spread across the stars. Through genetic enhancements humanity has overcome the flaws of the past and now the Triumvirate of Terra holds the three castes of man together in a fragile peace, a feudal state of genetic supermen overseeing the pure-bred humans beneath them.

 

Within the Realm Ascendant a crisis grows as a vassal world openly declares independence, sparking rebellion and conspiracy from all sides. The forces of the Triumvirate are caught dealing with an alien onslaught and must strive to secure the Realm from aliens and now their own kind.

 

Meanwhile, on the glorious capital of the Realm Ascendant, the lords of Normydia struggle to retain control over their homeland in the face of growing influence from their own Highborn rivals, Lowborn rebels, and the ominous third caste of the Trinity waiting to expand their power. The rulers of the realm must hold the line and decide where their own loyalties lie.

 

*Contains bad language and violence*

 

Complex, well-developed neo-feudal future with action, assasintion attempts, drama and political intrigue,

In the tradition of G.R.R.Martin's Game of Thrones, Keven J, Anderson's Saga of the Seven Suns, and Frank Herbert's Dune series, comes G. Satterford's Chronicles of the Trinity. This is an awesome book with well-developed and complex characters, detailed and descriptive action scenes, has a complex, multi-ploted story-line that includes: assasination attempts, political intrigue, treason, worlds trying to break away from the Trinity, and Sarvthelsic (alien bugs) looking for new territories to set up home in. The story is seen through the eyes of the four main characters: Bohemond, the dour knight commander of the Order of the Knights Trinity, Talia a Lowborn pilot who is unexpectedly raised to the Order of the Knights Trinity as Bohemond's squire, William Duke of Normydia and Anselm the Duke of Normydia's dalit (mixed caste) son. Satterford has created a vivid, well imagined future in which a form of neo-feudlism governs humanity. Humanity is categorised into a number of castes: the upper tier is the Triumvir who is a Bloodborn (the Bloodborn have been genetically augmented over time), the next tier down are the Highblood (they are generally the Overseers of vassal worlds and colonies, admirals and officers, etc and have also been genetically augmented) and the bottom tier are the Lowblood (they are the Pureblood humans without genetic augmentation).
While there are a number of proof-reading/grammatical errors these were few and far between and did not disrupt the flow of the story. I enjoyed immersing myself in the complex world Satterford has created - it feels as though it could be, for want of a better word, real. There is a rich tapestry of history within its pages as events are alluded too that 'happened in the past', for example the great Cataclysm on Earth which forced humanity out amongst the stars. So if you are the sort of reader who likes immersing themselves in well-developed and complex future worlds then definitely give this book a go - so looking forward to the next book.

Catherine Mackay from Amazon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


*

WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien